Monday, 28 November 2011

Junior Badminton News 28th November 2011

              Munster players win in Connacht
There was a clean sweep for Ennis player Karen MacNamara at the recent Connacht Juvenile Open when she won the U13 Girls Singles, Girls Doubles, and Mixed Doubles.  Karen beat her doubles partner and clubmate Lana Browne in a closely contested Girls Singles Final.  Both girls made light work of the singles draw and went on to provide a very exciting singles final.  Karen and Lana earlier teamed up to take the Girls Doubles Title and, in the very last match of the day, Karen and her Cork partner Tomas Howard, beat Lana and her Cork partner, Brian O'Mahony in the Mixed Doubles Final.  Tomas and Brian had earlier captured the U13 Boys Doubles title, and Tomas won the Boys Singles Plate (Brian being narrowly beaten in the semi-final of the Boys Singles).

In the U17 event, Ennis player Moya Ryan had some outstanding wins on her way to contesting the U17 Girls Singles Final.  Moya (still only 13 years old) played a very good final and was unlucky to lose out in two sets.

Friday, 18 November 2011

Diary Dates - Bingo Night & Junior Christmas Party

2  dates for your diary. 

  The Junior  Christmas Party wull take place on the afternoon of Sunday 4th December. DJ  Martin Guinnane will be spinning the discs. Further details soon.

The Bingo Night arranged by Martin Dunne will take place on Saturday 26th November. members and friends are invited and the evening is intended to raise funds for a defilbrillator

Home Win in Munster Grade 6

Well done to the Ennis tennis team that defeated Carrigaline from Cork t home  last Sunday in Grade 6 of the Munster Club Chamoionships. The team was Sean Carroll, Chris Rudland, Angela O'Sullivan and Cathy Foley.

Ennis team & Carrigaline

Poker Nights

The popular poker nights continue each Wednesday at 8.30. All members are invited and entry is just €10

Tuesday, 15 November 2011

Junior Tennis News

Well done to Chris & Shauna Kearney who competed in the  Regional Matchplay in Limerick Lawn last week.

Squad training for St Flananans is conducted by Mary Frances Darcy each week.

Sunday, 13 November 2011

A look back to the club in 1984 / 85



President Oliver Moylan, Vice President Frank McInerney, Chairperson Tom Eade, Vice Chairman Johnny Flynn, Secretary Phil Molony, Treasurer Caroline Guthrie, PRO john Flanagan, Tennis Captain Johnny Flynn, Badminton Captain M Molloy, G Bredin, B McInerney, F Feighery, A McNeill, Roger Fox, K Tuohy, C Kearney.

Major Events
Club development comes to a standstill as the club trys to reduce its debt. Footpaths have been added. A Landscaping project commenced on the club’s perimeter under the supervision of Phil Molony and Johnny Flynn.

Old tennis trophies are unearthed, including the Ladies Singles which goes back to 1947, when it was won by E Walsh.
Membership 306 (Including Life, 5/4 year, Family, Senior, Student and Junior)
84/85 Turnover £18,175. Liabilities £47,307. Amount spent on clubhouse and grounds over past 2 years £93,774.

Tennis 1984/85
The Tennis Committee was;

Mens Captain J Flynn. Ladies Capt: Geraldine Fogarty. Sec: Donagh Griffin. Ladder Sec Men : Noel Tierney and Ladies Eileen Killeen. Competitions Committee: N. Tierney, P Molony, H O’Sullivan, E Killeen, G Bredin, A McNeill, J Flynn, J Lewis. Clubhouse Committee: H O’Sullivan and B Keane.

Mens Tennis Champion Larry Power def Michael Whyte 6-7, 6-2, 8-6.
Ladies Tennis Champion Geraldine Fogarty Jackie Malone 6-4, 6-0

Ladies Doubles: Edel O’Halloran & Eileen Williams def Yvonne Moloney & Annette Keane

Mens DoublesJ Flynn & A McNeill def D McNeill & L Power

Mixed Doubles: E O’Halloran & A McNeill def J Flynn & G Fogarty

Mens Plate Stuart Daly Def Jack Keane. Ladies Plate: Eileen Killeen def Anna McInerney

Beginners Ladies Doubles : Cora Hehir & Claire Kelly def Gay Hanrahan & Susan Doherty

Beginner Mens Singles League: Adrian Rynne def Michael Hannon

 Ennis win Clare Badminton Leagues Div 2, 3 & 4.
The Div 2 team: Eugene Morrisroe, Pat McInerney, Tom Woulfe, Adrian McNeill, Don Hamilton, Liam O’ Halloran, Johnny Flynn, Phil Molony, Fran Feighery, Maura Hanrahan, Jackie Malone, Evelyn Lyons. They defeated Scariff in the final.
Div 3 team: D McCarthy, J Feeney, D McNeill, S Nugent, P StLeger, A Roche, T Fitzgibbon, E O Halloran.They defeated Kilrush in the final.